Books

Coming February 7, 2023 from Alcove Press...

THE FRIENDSHIP BREAKUP, a suburban “mom-com” pitched as BAD MOMS meets MEAN GIRLS, in which a mom is suddenly ghosted by the neighborhood mom group and she’s both determined to find out why and get back in their good graces.

For fans of Laura Hankin and Jennifer Weiner, this fresh, clever, and complex debut “mom-com” explores the bonds of friendship—and the bounds of loyalty.
 
A plucky protagonist who’s far from figuring it all out—but powers through with wit and determination—will instantly capture readers.


Fallon Monroe, mother of one, self-help book junkie, and budding chocolatier, has always relied on her neighborhood friends to get her through the trials of adulthood. So when her bestie Beatrice inexplicably starts ghosting her and takes all their mutual friends with her, Fallon’s left wondering how everything went so wrong. Pushing down a lifetime of insecurities, Fallon doubles down and decides to win them back. First, she hosts an epic Mexican Fiesta that goes epically wrong. Then she joins a friendship app but discovers a disturbing secret about one of her new friends—a discovery that will test the strength of her loyalty to Beatrice.
 
Just when she’s about to throw in the towel on the whole friendship mess, Fallon reads a recently unearthed letter she’d refused to deal with decades earlier—and reading it forces her to finally face the deep-seated fears she’d desperately tried to bury. Now, looking at her friendships through fresh eyes, she must decide between hanging on and letting go.
 
Fallon is an instantly likeable heroine—as vulnerable as she is determined—and she’ll have readers eagerly turning the pages as they join her on an emotional journey into the hopes and fears of adulthood.

 ADVANCE PRAISE for The Friendship Breakup